thumbnail Written by Cameron's Coffee

Hardworking, friendly, upbeat, Batman-loving, and the king of dad jokes are all ways you could describe Gus. He’s just moved into a new role in our main building, where his team will get to experience these qualities daily. Read on to learn more about him!


Where did you grow up? What did you like about it?
I grew up in Rosemount, not far at all from here. When I was a kid it was farm town, and I enjoyed having lots of space. We had a really big yard, but no farm. My grandparents had a farm in North Dakota, and we spent summers there as kids.

Where do you live now?
Now I live in Eagan with my wife and our daughter, Dorothy. She’s 20 months old. We also have 2 dogs. They’re both rescues. The older one, Brody, was an urban rescue, and Rogue was a lost in the forest rescue. Not sure what breed they are, but they’re definitely dogs.

When did you first try Cameron’s?
A long time ago, probably 7 or 8 years? It’s kind of a funny, six degrees of separation story. I was working on the dock at Sam’s Club, and Chuck (our current Cameron’s driver) was the Cameron’s delivery guy. At the time he was fairly new, and Cameron’s was still very small.

What do you do at Cameron’s, and how long have you been doing it?
I’ve done quite a few things in my year and a half here, all on the operations end. My main gig has been receiving and verifying inventories. I was unofficially in charge of green coffee receiving until recently. Now with my current title, I’m officially a bean counter!

What’s your favorite part of working at Cameron’s?
Honestly just the way I’ve been treated – it’s been a great company to work for. At a lot of companies, you’re just employee number whatever, and I feel like here we matter and we’re really well taken care of, especially in operations.

What do you love about coffee?
It’s work juice! No, I just like to have a hot drink in my hands for the first half of the day, and it’s one of those things I drink way too much of.

What’s your favorite Cameron’s blend, and how do you like to brew it?
My favorite is Velvet Moon, and I usually brew it with a French press.

What does your ideal Saturday morning look like?
I’ll sleep in till about 7 am, because then my daughter gets up. Usually we do breakfast, I‘ll make pancakes with fruit on top. If my wife has the day off we’ll make it a full breakfast and throw bacon and eggs in there too.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I do a lot of baking these days. It’s something I can do in my down time and still keep an eye on my daughter while she’s running around. And she likes it too! She can eat it afterwards. Right now I’m on a real brioche kick.

Favorite place to grab food or drink?
The Volstead House in Eagan is pretty great. It’s a speakeasy with Burgers & Bottles in the front. Mostly I’m a fan of their whiskey selection, and in the Volstead they have a great appetizer menu.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
An astronaut!! But I’m basically doing that now, so it’s pretty much the same.

Any other fun facts about you?
In the early 2000s I took a couple fights on the amateur MMA circuit. Back then there were not so many regulations and rules, looking back it was pretty sketchy times. Also, we went alligator wrestling for my bachelor party, at an alligator farm in Colorado. That was my brother’s idea. It was a lot of fun.

3 Comments

  1. I found Cameron’s coffee over a year ago. I saw a few packages at our local King Soopers (Krogers), but what they carried was very limited. Being a ‘tree hugger’ Coloradoan I was so excited to find the EcoPods for my Keurig coffee maker! I have been ordering from Cameron’s since then.
    Besides the amazing taste of the coffees, I so appreciate the thank you card in each box I receive. This last card was from Matt Deiman (sp). That really makes me feel like I am part of the family. Thanks for being an Eco conscious company.

  2. When will the Spring coffee sale be held?

  3. Hi Sylvia, thanks for reaching out! Our Spring 2020 Warehouse Sale will take place April 23-25th. We will send out an email to our eNewsletter subscribers with more information as we get closer to the sale dates. Feel free to give us a call at 952.374.5000 if you have any other questions! – CC –

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *