thumbnail Written by Cameron's Coffee

This month we’re excited to introduce you to Rebecca! She works in the Finished Goods Warehouse taking care of all our customers’ needs. Her team has described her as helpful, knowledgeable, and caring, which comes across in her work as well as other aspects of her life. Read on to learn more about Rebecca and her many interests!


Young family at restaurant

Where did you grow up?
I come from a military family and we moved a lot. My father was in the army. I was born in McHenry IL (Go Blackhawks!!) I am the 5th child from my father’s 1st marriage to my Filipino mother. He met her when he was on leave from the Vietnam war. His 2nd marriage brought my siblings & me to Willingboro, NJ. Growing up we moved between suburban cities in IL and NJ the most. My favorite place to live, however, was the large farmhouse surrounded by land in McHenry with my mother, father-figure Ron and my grandmother (or “Lola” she would be called in Tagalog). It had a graveyard dating back to the 1800’s at the entryway to our gravel driveway. That gravel driveway took you past a garden full of pumpkins, vegetables and a chicken coop. Next to the house was a pole barn full of equipment and a garage with a pit in order to work on race cars. The 2nd side garage also housed a beautiful yellow & white 1957 Chevy Bel Air & a Turquoise 1955 Chevy 3100 pickup truck. There was also a side lot full of classic cars that needed restoration or that were used for parts, and I used to play in them all the time. The backyard backed up to a forest & body of water that I’d often explore & take a boat on. I enjoyed being out there so much that my parents built me a treehouse where I could sit and play. It was an imaginative child’s dream!

Where do you live now?
I currently live in Shakopee with my 15 yr old son Winter and boyfriend Logan. We’ve been together for 7 yrs. My son Winter is a hilarious, exceptionally bright, & sometimes shy young man who loves to play & watch football. He is also an animal whisperer. I’m not sure how he does it, but it doesn’t matter if it’s a dog or a horse they just adore him. Logan & I met over 24 years ago when my best friend was dating his best friend. I was still in my last year of high school and he was 21. We got along great then, but it was not our time. I had a lot of adventuring to do when I joined a traveling stunt team & he would later join the Marines. We lost contact for many years, each taking different paths and then in Oct of 2013 thanks to social media and a few mutual friends we found each other again. We also have two former barn cats that we rescued, a calico named Fury, and a tomcat named Maximus.

Boy smiling and holding fox

When did you first try Cameron’s?
I’m not sure when I first tried Cameron’s coffee but I do know that coffee was “Life Blood” to me in my later teens into my twenties. It certainly got me through many nights of writing papers, show scripts & artwork. I can tell you the first flavor I tried from Cameron’s was Highlander Grog.

What do you do at Cameron’s, and how long have you been doing it?
I have been in the Customer Operations Specialist role at Cameron’s since March of 2018. I was hired initially to take care of a new client that would be one of our largest customers. Over these 2 1/2 years that has changed to incorporate all of our customers.

What’s your favorite part of working at Cameron’s?
The team of people I work with is the best. I appreciate the team’s great work ethic, the camaraderie and the fact that you feel valued here. I can absolutely be myself. Access to great coffee is also a perk.

What do you love about coffee?
THE CAFFEINE and the taste!!! The smell of fresh ground coffee & when it’s being brewed is also nice.

What’s your favorite Cameron’s blend, and how do you like to brew it?
When I’m in the mood for something sweet my favorite flavor is the Highlander Grog. It’s amazing straight or with cream & sugar. I like my coffee in a French press or old reliable Mr Coffee brewer. The tie for 2nd place is our regular Cold Brew Blend or Jamaica Blue Mountain Blend. Third favorite is Kona Blend. My best friend Laura’s boyfriend swears he would load up the back of his pick-up truck with all the Kona Blend if we let him.

What does your ideal Saturday morning look like?
Waking up with my family in the beach house overlooking the beaches of El Nido, Philippines or The Algarve in Portugal. Breakfast would be fresh fruits, French toast, eggs & bacon. Then we’d surf some waves. You did say “ideal”! Realistic is preparing the same breakfast followed by hitting some hiking or bike trails. On a cold snowy day you may find me binge-watching a great series with the family or grilling out with friends followed by Cards Against Humanity & some drinks.

Mother and son on a boat in a lake

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I love camping & being outdoors. Every summer my siblings & our families get together for our family camping trip. We pick a random state park or campground within MN or the surrounding states. There’s a serenity to just being able to disconnect from the hustle & bustle and be in nature. I enjoy going to my son’s football games, concerts with friends & family, kayaking and target practice. I also like to cook & entertain people. Asian & Italian food is a specialty, from eggrolls, pansit, pad thai, Korean or Mongolian dishes, Cajun shrimp or chicken fettuccine, etc. I am also currently learning Tagalog so that I can better communicate with my family in the Philippines.

Family posed in front of waterfall

Favorite place to grab food or drink?
Best place in Shakopee is Bravis hands down. Everything is made fresh & they season everything perfectly from their shrimp & steak pineapple bowls to their tacos! K-Bop in Dinkytown has amazing Dolsot Bi Bim Bap & beef bulgogi. I recommend Manila Sizzling Wok & Grill for some amazing Filipino food, almost like Mom used to make! Badger Hill & Surly Brewing are also great places to grab a beer.

What did you want to be when you grew up?
Forensic Scientist or National Geographic Photographer – I was never squeamish around things most people are bothered by, and I loved science. What I liked about National Geographic was the ability to travel to remote areas, learn about and photograph other cultures.

Any other fun facts about you?
I am pretty handy with a sword or spear, whether on or off a horse. I can also breathe & twirl fire. It took a few years of training and one burnt hat, but it sure was fun, or in my son’s resounding words, “Wow Mom! You used to be cool!” Thanks kid! Told you he’s funny!

Woman twirling fire with large batons